*** Recreation Licenses expire on August 31 Annually ***

Non-residents 16 years of age and over are required to have appropriate recreational licenses.

It is illegal in Alabama for a non-resident with a valid driver's license to possess an Alabama non-driver's ID card.

Mandatory Game Check will start with the 2016-2017 hunting season. For more information on Game Check, click here.

Non-resident landowers (possessing an out-of-state driver's license) are required to purchase non-resident hunting licenses. 

THE FOLLOWING LICENSE INFORMATION HAS BEEN UPDATED FOR THE 2017-18 HUNTING SEASON.  The forms and applications will be updated soon.

All Game Hunting
Allows non-residents age 16 and over to hunt all legal game (includes deer and/or turkey) within Alabama. Annual licenses expire August 31. Ten day and three day trip licenses available.
$306.25 Annual
Information
  
Application
 
Laws/Regs

 

$189.20
10-day
$133.55
3-day
Small Game Hunting
Allows non-residents age 16 and over to hunt all legal game (excludes deer and/or turkey) within Alabama. Annual licenses expire August 31. Ten day and three day trip licenses available.
$100.05
Annual
$61.10
10-day
$44.35
3-day

Non-Resident College Students

Allows certain non-resident students age 17-23 to qualify for resident recreational hunting and fishing licenses. Must be a full-student enrolled in an approved Alabama Higher Education Institute. Click here for list of approved institutes.

$26.60 All Game

Information

Application

$17.70 Small Game

Hunter's Exempt License Privilege (H.E.L.P.)If you are exempt from needing a license or have a 64 year old, optional 65 year old or senior lifetime hunting license, you must have a HELP number to record your deer / turkey harvest data into the Game Check Program.
N/C

Information

Application

Laws/Regs

Commercial Fowl Hunting Preserve7-day trip
Allows non-residents age 16 and over to hunt on a licensed commercial fowl hunting preserve for seven consecutive days with no other license required.
$10.00
Information
 
Application
 
Laws/Regs
H.I.P. (Harvest Information Program)
Required of all licensed migratory bird hunters.
N/C
Information
 
Laws/Regs
Disabled Military Veteran's Appreciation 3-day Event Hunting License
Allows for sanctioned events hosting disabled military veterans (residents and/or non-residents) to hunt all game for 3 days in Alabama.  Each license permits up to 10 disabled military veterans on one license.  Must be certified to be by U.S. Veterans Administration to be 50% or more disabled.
$133.55
Information
 
Application
 
Laws/Regs
Duck Stamp - State*
Allows a non-resident age 16 and over to hunt migratory waterfowl within Alabama and its coastal waters. Appropriate hunting license and HIP stamp also required. Stamp is issued electronically. Expires August 31$11.00

Information

Application

Laws/Regs

Duck Stamp - Federal
Allows persons age 16 and over to hunt migratory waterfowl within the United States. Appropriate hunting license and HIP stamp also required. Available at the U.S. Post Office. Expires June 30.
$25.00
Wildlife Management Area License
Allows non-residents age 16 and over to hunt on WMA, in addition to the appropriate hunting license and WMA map/permit (free). Shooting range users on WMA are required to have a valid hunting license, WMA license or Wildlife Heritage license. Expires August 31 annually. $17.70

Information

Application

Laws/Regs

 

*State Duck Stamps from previous license years can be purchased by mail at:

DCNR - License Section, 64 North Union Street, Suite 438, Montgomery, AL  36130

For inquires call (334) 242-3829 or e-mail at DCNR.License@dcnr.alabama.gov.