! Hunting & Fishing Licenses | Boat Registration Renewal

Advisory Board

Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Advisory Board Members

The Conservation Advisory Board, created by statute, is composed of 10 members appointed by the governor for alternating terms of six years, and three ex-officio members in the persons of the governor, the commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, and the director of the Alabama Cooperative Extension system. The commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources serves as the ex-officio secretary of the board.

 The Advisory Board assists in formulating policies for the Department of Conservation, examines all rules and regulations and makes recommendations for their change or amendment. By a two-thirds vote of the members present and with the governor’s approval, the board can amend, make any changes, repeal or create and promulgate additional rules and regulations. The Board also assists in publicizing the department’s programs and activities.

Board Members (updated September 2013)


Contact Address

Term Expires

Congressional District

Dan L. Moultrie, Chairman

PO Box 188
Verbena, AL 36091

March 27, 2015


Austin Ainsworth

PO Box 447
Guntersville, AL 35976

September 30, 2017


Grady Hartzog

PO Box 787
Eufaula, AL  36072

March 27, 2015


Bill Hatley

639 Estate Dr
Gulf Shores, AL  36542

September 30, 2017


T.J. Bunn

1904 University Blvd.
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
March 27, 2015


Raymond Jones, Jr.

401 Franklin St
Huntsville, AL  35801

May 9, 2019


Jeff Martin

2632 Martin Street South
Pell City, AL  35125

May 9, 2019


Joseph Dobbs, Jr.

3601 Parkwood Rd. SE
Bessemer, AL  35022

March 28, 2015


Dr. Bob Shipp

University of South AL
Dept. of Marine Sciences
Mobile, AL 36688

March 28, 2015


Dr. Warren Strickland

4601 Whitesburg Drive
Suite 201

Huntsville, AL  35802

September 30, 2017


Ex-officio Members

  • Robert Bentley, Governor
  • Dr. Gary Lemme, Director, Alabama Cooperative Extension System
  • John McMillan, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Industries

Ex-officio Secretary of the Board

  • N. Gunter Guy, Jr., Commissioner, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources



Official Web site of Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
©2008 Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources   |   64 N. Union Street, Suite 468 - Montgomery, Alabama 36130